PCL Model United Nations

Notices Post New Entry

Commitee Research

Posted by [email protected] on July 20, 2015 at 7:30 AM

The General Assembly

The General Assembly is the main deliberative and representative organ of the UN, and makes mostly policies. They have a total of 193 Members and decides on the admission of new members, following the permission by the UN Security Council. The GA elects a president of the the organ each year to serve a one-year term of office, and this session's president is Sam Kahamba Kutesa from Uganda, and he was elected as the president of the GA’s sixty-ninth session on 11 June 2014. They have subsidiary organs, and those of the GA are divided into categories that are Boards, Commissions, Committees, Councils and Panels, and Working Groups and others.


The Security Council

The Security Council is the organ that has the primary responsibility under the UN Charter for the maintenance of international peace and security. The Security Council's other three main purposes that the UN Charter gave is developing friendly relations among nations, cooperating in solving international problems and in promoting respect for human rights, and being a center for harmonizing the actions of nations. They have 15 Members (5 permanent and 10 non-permanent members), and the five permanent members are China, France, Russia, UK, and the US, and ten non-permanent members that are elected for two-year terms by the General Assembly are Angola, Chad, Chile, Jordan, Lithuania, Malaysia, New Zealand, Nigeria, Spain, Venezuela. Each Member has one vote, and the whole organ has a presidency that changes and rotates every month. In this month, the president Member is New Zealand, and the end of New Zealand's membership term is December 31st.

Categories: Sua

Post a Comment


Oops, you forgot something.


The words you entered did not match the given text. Please try again.

Already a member? Sign In