PCL Model United Nations

Notices Post New Entry

About UN

Posted by Sua Shin on July 15, 2015 at 10:55 AM

The United Nations is an international organization that was made in 1945. It is currently made up of 193 Member States, and usually works for the missions that are guided by the purposes and the rules contained in the UN Charter. The United Nations Headquarters is in New York City and includes a total of 6 main organs. They are the General Assembly, the Security Council, the Economic and Social Council, the Trusteeship Council, the International Court of Justice, and the UN Secretariat. The General Assembly is the main deliberative and representative organ of the UN, and makes mostly policies. They decide on the admission of new members, following the permission by the UN Security Council and elects a president of the the organ each year to serve a one-year term of office. Next, the Security Council is the organ that has the primary responsibility under the UN Charter for the maintenance of international peace and security. They have 15 members, and has a president for the organ that changes and rotates every month. The third organ is the Economic and Social Council, which is the principal body for coordination, and the central platform of UN for reflection, debate, and innovative thinking on sustainable development. It has a responsibility for the cooperation between states as regards economic and social matters, and has 54 members, elected by the General Assembly to serve a three-year of office. Next, the Trusteeship Council Was originally designed to manage colonial possessions that were former League of Nation mandates, but has been inactive since 1994, when Palau, the last trust territory, attained independence.

Categories: Sua

Post a Comment


Oops, you forgot something.


The words you entered did not match the given text. Please try again.

Already a member? Sign In